Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Academic Common Market

The Academic Common Market, which is administered by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB), allows South Carolina residents who are enrolled in specific programs at out-of-state institutions to be charged only the applicable in-state tuition by the institution in which the student is enrolled. Eligible programs must be at least 50 percent different in curricular content than programs offered in South Carolina. Participating states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia (Florida and Texas participate only at the graduate level.)

A student must be accepted into the specific program desired on a full-time basis and must complete the South Carolina residency form. When the completed form is submitted to CHE, a copy of the letter of acceptance into the program from the institution must be attached. If CHE determines that the student is a state resident on the basis of information submitted, we will write a letter of certification to the student and provide a copy to the appropriate official at the institution. This will qualify the student for a waiver of out-of-state fees.

Changes are periodically made in the ACM program inventory. If you are interested in a program which is not in the ACM program inventory, you can request that CHE review the program. You would need to send us the following information: a copy of your letter of acceptance into the specific program, the completed residency certification form, and curricular information about the program including course descriptions and credit hour requirements. Remember that the ACM guidelines stipulate that only programs that are 50 percent different in curricular content from programs offered in the State can be included. 

Please note that the ACM program inventory is subject to change at any time without prior notice.

For additional information, please contact: 

Ms. Kenita D. Pitts
1122 Lady St. Suite 400
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 856-0037