

Meeting of the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education 12:30 p.m., January 18, 2024 1122 Lady Street, Suite 400, Columbia, SC, 29403 & Via Zoom Webinar

# Members

Commissioner Wes Hayes, Chair Commissioner Bettie Rose Horne, Vice Chair Commissioner Edgar Dyer Commissioner Paul Batson Commissioner Jenni Bryson Commissioner Gene Fant Commissioner Hugh Mobley

# Commission Staff Present

Rusty Monhollon Argentini Anderson Jessica Berry Laura Belcher Kristin Brooks Stephanie Charbonneau Jamie Covell Morgan Clinton Scheri Eichelberger Shardai Figgures Monica Goodwin Gerrick Hampton Kathryn Harris Matthew Hartenstine Ellan Jenkinson, PASCAL Andrea LaTouche Mariana Manic Maggie Mason-Smith, PASCAL Yolanda McCree Emily McPheron, PASCAL

# <u>Guests</u>

Beth Bell, Clemson University Teresa Burns, Coastal Carolina University Jessica Carter, Lowcountry Graduate Center Lewis Carter, SC House of Representatives Zachary Christian, SC Tuition Grants Commission James Colbert, Lander University Walter Collins, University of South Carolina Palmetto College April Cromer, SC House of Representatives MD, Columbia College Jeremy Dean, SC Inspector General's Office Mark Del Mastro, College of Charleston Timothy Drueke, Winthrop University Commissioner Terrye Seckinger Commissioner Cleveland Sellers Commissioner Oran Smith Commissioner Doug Snyder Commissioner Dino Teppara Commissioner Patrick White Commissioner Mick Zais

Alfie Mincv Frank Myers Yolanda Myers Kenita Pitts Melissa Price Dianne Schaefer, PASCAL Christina Seale Nia Simmons Kara Smith Rachel Smith, PASCAL Yarley Steedly Mark Swart Georges Tippens Amy Trepal Bunnie Ward Tanya Weigold Leslie Williams Bryce Wilson Karen Woodfaulk Lishu Yin

Susan Elkins, University of South Carolina Palmetto College Lauren Ellis, Pearson Frederick Evans, SC State University Jermaine Ford, Florence Darlington Technical College Marilyn Fore, Horry-Georgetown Technical College Ronald Friday, SC State University Bennie Harris, University of South Carolina Upstate Julian Harris, SC Inspector General's Office Katie Harrison, SC Tuition Grants Commission Lil Hayes, SC House Education & Public Works Eric Skipper, University of South Carolina Cynthia Hemphill-Reehling, Denmark Technical Beaufort College Gerald Smalls, SC State University Shirley Hinson, College of Charleston Kimberly Smalls, SC Institutes of Innovation & Jessica Holdman, SC Daily Gazette Information Trena Houp, University of South Carolina Nina Staggers, SC Department of Employment and Workforce Columbia Andrew Hsu, College of Charleston Pamela Steinke, University of South Carolina Tanya King, SC Inspector General's Office Upstate Elisabeth Kova, SC Future Makers Rosaline Sumpter, SC Technical College System Maggie May, Higher Ed News Adam Taylor, Lander University Meghan McCraw, Executive Budget Office Karen Taylor, SC Technical College System Shannon Means, University of South Carolina Graham Tew, McGuire Consulting Thayer McGahee, University of South Carolina Suzanne Thomas, Medical University of South Aiken Carolina Gwynth Nelson, SC Institutes of Innovation & Wille Todd, Denmark Technical College Information Terrance Trapp, SC Inspector General's Office AJ Newton, SC Technical College System Jacki Walsh, SC Department of Education Bessie Watson, SC Inspector General's Office Erin Paysinger, Lander University Jeff Perez, SC Independent Colleges and Macey Webb, SC House of Representatives Angela Williams, Midlands Technical College Universities Leslie Wiser, SC Inspector General's Office Hope Rivers, Piedmont Technical College Tangar Young, SC State University Jake Scoggins, SC Senate All Attended either In-Person, by Phone, or via Video Conference

Chair Hayes convened the meeting at 12:00 p.m. and welcomed all in attendance.

# I. 1. Introductions and Roll Call to Establish Quorum

Ms. Belcher introduced the Commissioners. She confirmed a quorum of the Commission and announced that the meeting was being held in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

# 2. Discuss President and Executive Director Transition

Chair Hayes thanked everyone for attending the meeting and introduced two new Commissioners, Oran Smith and Mick Zais. Chair Hayes called on President Monhollon to provide an update. President Monhollon announced that he has submitted his resignation from the President and Executive Director position effective January 19, 2024. He thanked the Commission for the opportunity to serve in this capacity. Commissioner Seckinger motioned and Commissioner Horne seconded to go into executive session to discuss personnel. Chair Hayes called for the vote and the motion carried.

# 3. Executive Session

Commissioners returned from executive session and Chair Hayes confirmed that no action was taken in Executive Session.

### [Continuation of Item 2, Discuss President and Executive Director Transition]

Chair Hayes accepted President Monhollon's resignation and thanked him for his service to the agency and to the State. Commissioners joined in thanking President Monhollon for his leadership. Chair Hayes asked for a motion to select an Acting President and Executive Director, to which Commissioner Mobley motioned and Commissioner Seckinger seconded to appoint Dr. Karen Woodfaulk. Chair Hayes called for the vote and the motion passed unanimously. Chair Hayes asked the Executive Committee to serve as the search committee in collaboration with the State Human Resources Office to fill the interim and full-time President and Executive Director, Committee with the search process. He expressed that the process will move quickly.

Chair Hayes said that he would extend the timeline to receive Commissioners' feedback on the CHE's response to the Inspector General's (IG) Report, which will be submitted tentatively on Friday, January 26. He said that the report will be sent to the IG for review to determine whether the CHE's response meets his recommendations prior to him presenting during the February CHE Business Meeting.

President Monhollon thanked the Commission, staff, and the higher education community for their work. He was then excused from the meeting.

Chair Hayes called on Commissioner Snyder to discuss the CHE's budget presentation that would be given to the House Ways and Means. Commissioner Snyder provided a summary of the fiscal year (FY) 2024-25 budget presentation. Chair Hayes thanked Commissioner Snyder and staff for their work on the budget.

### 4. Other Business

Chair Hayes asked whether there was any other business. Commissioner Seckinger and Chair Hayes thanked Dr. Woodfaulk for serving in the Acting President and Executive Director position.

# 5. Public Comment

Chair Hayes asked whether there was any public comment. There was no public comment.

### 6. End of Business Meeting

The business meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.