# SOUTH CAROLINA COMMISSION ON HIGHER EDUCATION

1122 Lady Street, Suite 300 Columbia, S.C. 29201 2:00 p.m.

## Minutes of the Meeting May 31, 2019

### **Commissioners Attending**

Mr. Wes Hayes, Chair Mr. Chuck Munns, Vice Chair Mr. Paul Batson\* Mr. Jim Battle Ms. Julie Godshall Brown\*

#### **Commissioners Absent**

Dr. Mark Smith (excused)

#### **Guests Attending**

Ms. Beth Bell, Clemson University

Dr. Tena Crews, University of South Carolina\*

\*Attended by phone

Ms. Yolanda Myers

Mr. Andrew Roof

Mr. Brvce Wilson Dr. Karen Woodfaulk

## **Commission Staff Present**

Mr. Mike LeFever Ms. Laura Belcher Ms. Lane Goodwin Dr. John Lane

1. Welcome & Introductions

# Chair Hayes convened the meeting at 2:06 p.m. and welcomed all in attendance. It was confirmed that the meeting was being held in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act. Ms. Belcher introduced the guests in attendance.

### 2. Executive Session for purposes of personnel matters

A motion was made by Commission Horne at 2:08 p.m. to enter executive session to discuss personnel matters. The motion, which was seconded by Commissioner Battle, carried unanimously.

### 3. Report of the Search Committee for the next President & Executive Director

Consideration of Recommendation

At 2:44 p.m., the Commission resumed its public business. Returning guests were then announced by Ms. Belcher.

## Meeting held at

Mr. Charles Dalton

Mr. Devron Edwards

Dr. Bettie Rose Horne

Ms. Linda Dolny

Mr. Edgar Dyer\*

Mr. Ben Satcher Ms. Terrye Seckinger Dr. Cleveland Sellers Mr. Patrick White\*

Wes Hayes

# Wes Hayes

# **Charles Dalton**

After those in attendance were recognized, Commissioner Dalton, chair of the Search Committee, moved as follows:

"In consultation with the Division of State Human Resources and having received input from interested stakeholders, including Commission staff, Commissioners, the higher education community and the public at large, the Search Committee finds all three finalists highly qualified and recommends Dr. Rusty Monhollon to be the next President and Executive Director of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education."

The motion, which did not require a second, passed unanimously.

#### 4. Other Business

#### Wes Hayes

Chair Hayes thanked the Search Committee for its hard work and announced that Interim President and Executive Director Mike LeFever would remain in office until July 15<sup>th</sup>, when Dr. Monhollon will assume his duties. Chair Hayes acknowledged the service of Mr. LeFever and expressed the Commission's gratitude for his leadership. After which, the meeting attendees gave Mr. LeFever a standing ovation.

At 2:48 p.m., a motion (Satcher) was made and seconded (Battle) to adjourn the meeting.