South Carolina Commission on Higher Education COMMISSIONER UPDATES



Brig Gen John L. Finan, USAF (Ret.) Statewide At-Large, Chair

Mr. Tim M. Hofferth Statewide At-Large

Me. Clark B. Parker Statewide At-Large

Dr. Jennifer B. Settlemyer Statewide At-Large

Ms. Terrye C. Seckinger 1st Congressional District

VADM Charles Munns, USN (ret.) 2nd Congressional District

Dr. Bettie Rose Horne, Vice Chair 3rd Congressional District

Ms. Dianne C. Kuhl 4th Congressional District

Mr. Kim F. Phillips 5th Congressional District

Mr. Hood Temple 6th Congressional District

Vacant, 7th Congressional District

Dr. Louis B. Lynn SC Public Research Universities

Ms. Allison Dean Love SC Public 4-Year Comprehensive Universities

Mr. Paul O. Batson III SC Public Technical Colleges

Dr. Evans Whitaker SC Independent Colleges & Universities

Ms. Julie J. Carullo Interim Executive Director

1122 Lady St., Ste. 300 Columbia, SC 29201 Phone: 803.737.2260 Fax: 803.737.2297 Web: <u>www.che.sc.gov</u>

HIGHLIGHTS OF CHE MEETING APRIL 2, 2015

The following information is intended to be a brief summary of Commission actions and should not be considered as any form of minutes for the referenced meeting. Blue underlined text is hyperlinked.

The Commission welcomed six new Commissioners who were appointed by Governor Haley and confirmed recently by the Senate: **Mr. Tim Hofferth** of Chapin and **Mr. Clark Parker** of Myrtle Beach join the board as statewide at-large members; **Ms. Allison Dean Love** of Columbia and Citadel trustee is appointed as the four-year comprehensive public institution representative, a seat previously held by Ms. Natasha Hanna, a Coastal Carolina University trustee; **Dr. Louis Lynn** of Columbia and Clemson University trustee is appointed as the research institution representative, a position previously held by Ms. Leah Moody, a University of South Carolina trustee; **Mr. Paul Batson** of Greer and Greenville Technical College area commissioner is appointed as the technical college system representative; and **Dr. Evans Whitaker**, President of Anderson University, Anderson, SC, is appointed as the representative of the independent institutions. **Dr. Jennifer Settlemyer** was also congratulated on her re-appointment as a statewide at-large member and on her return from National Guard service in Washington, DC.

At its meeting, the Commission discussed governance in light of legislation (H.3170) under consideration that would remove technical colleges from CHE oversight of academic program approvals and a provision included in the House recommended FY16 budget to remove the technical colleges from any CHE oversight. Commissioners expressed a strong sense of the importance of a fully coordinated higher education system, the importance of the technical colleges as remaining within the system, and the benefits that accrue to our students and could be lost as a result of any separation of the system. Commissioners affirmed too their continued commitment in working with the technical college system and coordinating further improvements that may be beneficial to the program approval process which has been streamlined to a great extent in recent years in consultation with the technical colleges.

CHE approved guidelines advanced by the Access & Equity and Student Services Committee for two programs including

- <u>Year-round award of SC Palmetto Fellows and LIFE scholarships</u>
- <u>Need-based grants for students in recognized SC College Transition Programs</u> which include non-degree programs at Clemson University, Coastal Carolina University, College of Charleston, University of South Carolina, and Winthrop University for students with developmental disabilities.

CHE approved the establishment of interim capital projects for

- Clemson University including 1) <u>Electrical Distribution System Upgrades and</u> <u>Replacements</u> and 2) <u>Football Operations Facility Construction</u> and for
- University of South Carolina Beaufort <u>Hilton Head Island Hospitality Management</u> <u>Facility Construction</u>
- Greenville Technical College East Faris Road Land Acquisition

CHE received several other information reports and updates of interest:

- <u>College Application Month</u>
- Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act of 2014, Section 702
- SC Program For Recruitment and Retention of Minority Teachers
- Capital Projects & Leases Processed by Staff for February and March 2015
- Commissioners were briefed on recent legislative activities and referred to weekly staff updates relating to higher education which are available <u>here</u>.

Following the meeting, it was **announced that the Commission accepted the resignation of Executive Director Richard Sutton**. The Commission is in the process of forming a search committee, and Ms. Julie Carullo, CHE's Deputy Director, will initially serve as interim director during the transition.

Upcoming Commission Meetings: CHE meets next on May 7 at 10:30 AM

ABOUT CHE: CHE serves as the coordinating board for the state's thirty-three public institutions of higher education. Our mission is to promote quality and efficiency in the state system of higher education with a goal of fostering economic growth and human development in South Carolina. For more information about CHE, please visit our website: <u>www.che.sc.gov</u>. CHE meets regularly during the year, typically on the first Thursday of the month. For the schedule and additional details, <u>Click Here</u>.