

# SC State Policy and Procedures

# **SC Commission on Higher Education Awards**

#### **General Requirements for All Awards:**

- Must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
- Must be a resident of South Carolina.
- Must be enrolled and degree-seeking at an eligible South Carolina public or independent institution.
- Cannot owe a refund or repayment on any state or federal aid or be in default on a federal student loan.
- Must not have been convicted of a felony or any second or subsequent alcohol or drugrelated misdemeanor within the past academic year.

# South Carolina HOPE Scholarship (HOPE)

Award: \$2,800 (includes \$300 book allowance)

- Awards are evenly divided between fall and spring semesters.
- Awards cannot exceed the Cost of Attendance.
- Eligibility is for first-time, first-year freshmen.

#### About:

Established under the SC Lottery Act, the SC HOPE Scholarship began in the 2002-2003 academic year for four-year institutions. Funding is contingent upon the annual proceeds generated from the SC Education Lottery.

# Eligibility:

- Must graduate from high school or an approved home school program (does not need to be a South Carolina high school).
- Cannot be a recipient of the SC LIFE or SC Palmetto Fellows scholarships.
- Must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA based on UGP upon high school graduation.

- Must have resided in South Carolina for at least 12 months for reasons other than education, excluding temporary absences due to vacation or study abroad. Residency is determined by the student (if independent) or the parent/legal guardian (if dependent).
- Each year, the SC State Certification Form must be signed by the student confirming that they have never been convicted of any felonies or alcohol/drug-related misdemeanors.
- Upon receipt of final high school transcripts and/or transfer transcripts, eligibility for the SC HOPE Scholarship will be determined (students who graduate with a GED are not eligible).
- A review of state residency is required if the student did not indicate South Carolina residency or if they indicated SC as their residence for less than one year on the FAFSA to resolve conflicting information.
- Must meet all general requirements.
- For additional information, visit <u>www.che.sc.gov</u>.

# **Continued Eligibility:**

- The award is for freshman year only (up to two terms). There is no renewal for this award.
- Students with HOPE may earn LIFE for their sophomore year by earning at least 30 nonremedial credit hours with at least a 3.0 GPA during their freshman year. Credit hours can include AP, IB, Dual Enrollment, CLEP, and exempted credit hours (it cannot include non-degree-seeking hours such as bridge 099 classes).

# Transfer Eligibility:

- Transfer freshman students must have met the SC HOPE initial eligibility criteria at the time of initial college enrollment.
- Students who transfer from two-year colleges to a four-year eligible college, who were enrolled in remedial courses during their freshman year, may be eligible for the SC HOPE Scholarship. Eligibility must not include the period during which the student was enrolled in remedial courses unless the student completed twelve credit hours of remedial coursework during their freshman enrollment.

# South Carolina LIFE Scholarship (LIFE) & LIFE Enhancement

# **Initial Eligibility**

Award: \$5,000 (includes \$300 book allowance)

- Awards are divided evenly between fall and spring semesters.
- Awards cannot exceed the Cost of Attendance.
- Maximum 8 consecutive terms of eligibility from initial college enrollment.

#### About:

The SC LIFE (Legislative Incentive for Future Excellence) was established by the General Assembly in 1998. The scholarship aims to increase access to higher education, incentivize students to be better prepared for college, encourage on-time graduation, and improve employability in South Carolina. Awarded as a merit-based scholarship, it is administered by the financial aid office for both independent and public institutions in SC.

### Initial Eligibility:

Eligible South Carolina residents must meet 2 of the following 3 criteria to receive the award:

- 3.0 GPA
- 1100 SAT / 24 ACT
- Top 30% of your high school graduating class

In addition to the above:

- Cannot be a recipient of the SC HOPE or SC Palmetto Fellows scholarships.
- Upon receipt of final high school transcripts and/or transfer transcripts, eligibility for the SC LIFE Scholarship will be determined.
- Students may take summer classes to meet the renewal requirement for LIFE as listed at <u>www.che.sc.gov</u>.
- The LIFE GPA is based on eligible grades earned at all institutions attended.
- Must have resided in South Carolina for at least 12 months for reasons other than education, excluding temporary absences due to vacation or study abroad.
- Each year, the SC State Certification Form must be signed by the student confirming that they have never been convicted of any felonies or alcohol/drug-related misdemeanors.
- A review of state residency is required if the student did not indicate SC residency for the last year on the FAFSA to resolve conflicting information.
- Must meet all general requirements.
- For additional information, visit <u>www.che.sc.gov</u>.

#### **Continued Eligibility:**

- Earn 30 credit hours (excluding remedial, non-degree, and continuing education hours) by the end of the first academic year. Earn 60 credit hours by the end of the second academic year. Earn 90 credit hours by the end of the third academic year. Earn 120 credit hours by the end of the fourth academic year if in an approved five-year bachelor's degree program. Academic years consist of fall, spring, and summer. Credit hours can include AP, IB, Dual Enrollment, CLEP, and exempted credit hours.
- Earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA based on all grades at all institutions by the end of the academic year (fall, spring, summer).
- Each year, the SC State Certification Form must be signed by the student confirming that they have never been convicted of any felonies or alcohol/drug-related misdemeanors.

- Transfer freshman students must have met the SC LIFE initial eligibility criteria at the time of initial college enrollment.
- Transfer students who are not freshmen must have met the continued eligibility requirements.

#### LIFE Enhancement:

The South Carolina LIFE Scholarship also offers an Enhancement award of \$2,500 per year in addition to the LIFE Scholarship. To be eligible, students must meet the following:

- LIFE recipients must be returning upper-class students (Sophomore through Senior).
- Students must be meeting SC LIFE continuing requirements.
- Declare a major in math or science.
- Complete 14 hours of math and/or science courses by the end of the first year of college. Credit hours can include AP, IB, Dual Enrollment, CLEP, and exempted credit hours.

### South Carolina Palmetto Fellows and Palmetto Fellows Enhancement Scholarship

#### Award:

- \$6,700 for the first year
- \$7,500 for the second year and beyond
- Awards are divided evenly between fall and spring semesters.
- Awards cannot exceed the Cost of Attendance.
- Maximum 8 consecutive terms of eligibility from initial college enrollment.

#### About:

Established by the General Assembly in 1988, the SC Palmetto Fellows Scholarship is a meritbased scholarship for academically talented students.

#### Initial Eligibility:

Early awards are applied for by December 15th each year. Students must meet the following academic requirements:

- 1200 on the SAT (27 on the ACT) by the November test administration
- 3.50 cumulative GPA on the SC Uniform Grading Policy (UGP) by the end of junior year
- Rank in the top 6% of the class at the end of either the sophomore or junior year

OR

- 1400 on the SAT (32 on the ACT) by the November test administration
- 4.00 cumulative GPA on the SC UGP by the end of junior year

Late awards are applied for by June 15th each year. Students must meet the following academic requirements:

- 1200 on the SAT (27 on the ACT) by the June test administration
- 3.50 cumulative GPA on the SC UGP by the end of senior year
- Rank in the top 6% of the class at the end of the sophomore, junior, or senior year

### OR

- 1400 on the SAT (32 on the ACT) by the June test administration
- 4.00 cumulative GPA on the SC UGP at the end of the senior year
- Each year, the SC State Certification Form must be completed to be eligible.
- Must have resided in South Carolina for at least 12 months for reasons other than education, excluding temporary absences due to vacation or study abroad.
- A review of state residency is required if the student did not indicate SC residency for the last 5 years on the FAFSA to resolve conflicting information.

CSU receives early award information in March and late award information in August.

#### **Continued Eligibility:**

Renewal of this award is based on the completion of 30 non-remedial credit hours per year (fall, spring, and summer) and a cumulative CSU GPA of 3.0. For more information, visit <u>www.che.sc.gov</u>.

The South Carolina Palmetto Fellows Enhancement is also an additional \$2,500 per year for the sophomore through senior years if eligibility is met. For requirements, visit <u>www.che.sc.gov</u>.

**Palmetto Fellows Enhancement:** The South Carolina Palmetto Fellows Scholarship also offers an Enhancement award of \$2,500 per year in addition to the Palmetto Scholarship. To be eligible, students must meet the following criteria:

- Palmetto recipients must be returning upper-class students (Sophomore through Senior).
- Students must meet SC Palmetto Fellows's continuing requirements.
- Declare a major in math or science.
- Complete 14 hours of math and/or science courses by the end of the first year of college. Credit hours can include AP, IB, Dual Enrollment, CLEP, and exempted credit hours.

#### SC LIFE and SC Palmetto Fellows Year-Round State Scholarships:

**Award:** \$2,500 – beginning freshman year Awards are divided evenly between fall and spring semesters. Awards cannot exceed the Cost of Attendance. Maximum eligibility is six consecutive terms from the initial college enrollment.

#### About:

Beginning with the Executive Budget proposal for the FY 2015/15 Appropriations Act, Part 1B 3.5, "...A student may receive a Palmetto Fellows or LIFE scholarship award during the summer, in addition, to fall and spring semesters of an academic year, provided continued eligibility requirements are met as of the end of the spring semester. Students must enroll full-time, which, for purposes of the summer award, will require enrollment in at least twelve hours throughout the summer. The summer is defined as the period between the end of the spring term and the opening of the fall term. The total summer award per student may not exceed half of the allowable academic year award, up to the cost of attendance, and must be reimbursed if fewer than twelve hours of academic credit are not completed by the student during summer sessions. If awarded in the summer, a student's total award during his or her enrollment may not exceed the amount that would otherwise be provided under the current semester limits applied for the scholarship awards. The Commission on Higher Education may provide additional guidelines necessary to ensure uniform implementation...." This act allows students to earn their degrees at a faster pace while lowering the costs associated with this accelerated path.

#### **General CHE Requirements for Summer Award Eligibility:**

- Be a recipient of the SC LIFE or SC Palmetto Fellows Scholarship by the end of the spring semester. Students who are SC Hope may also be eligible following the spring term of their first year.
- For purposes of the summer awards, the summer term is defined as the period between the end of the spring term and the opening of the fall term.
- A student can only receive a summer disbursement at their home institution.
- Transient students are not eligible for the scholarship.
- A student who has been verified as meeting all general and continued eligibility requirements at the end of the spring semester is eligible to participate in summer scholarship disbursements.
- A student must be enrolled in at least twelve credit hours during the summer at Charleston Southern University to be awarded state scholarship funds in the summer.
- Participating students who are verified as Palmetto Fellows or LIFE Scholarship recipients and have met the continued eligibility requirements at the end of the spring term are eligible for a fall award, regardless of their academic performance over the summer. Continued eligibility for the scholarship will be reviewed at the end of the following spring term.
- A summer term cannot be the scholarship recipient's first term of enrollment.
- A Palmetto Fellows recipient who does not meet the continued eligibility requirements at the end of the spring term and who is LIFE scholarship eligible and elects to receive the LIFE Scholarship funds for the summer term, will no longer be eligible for the Palmetto Fellows moving forward.

**SC Residency Decision Appeal:** The SC Palmetto Fellows, LIFE, Hope, and SC Tuition Grant programs require recipients to certify that they are South Carolina residents to receive the scholarship. Proof must be provided for eligibility for in-state residency status, which may be that the individual has been domiciled within South Carolina for 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the term of enrollment or meets state requirements for residency. To appeal a residency decision, students can complete the appeal form in their Financial Aid LIVE located in their MyCSU and return it to the Financial Aid Office with all required documentation before the start of the term in which they wish to be considered a SC resident for scholarship purposes. Below is an example of what the appeal form looks like (2 pages):

#### **RESIDENCY APPEALS PROCESS**

There is no automatic right to classify as an in-state student; it is the student's responsibility to provide documentation as proof of being a legal resident of South Carolina for scholarship purposes.

If you believe that the initial residency decision is in error, you may submit an **Appeal for Change of Residency Status** form to the Financial Aid Office. The appeal form and supporting documentation can be dropped off in person to a financial aid counselor at the Student Center, emailed to financialaid@csuniv.edu, or faxed to (843) 863-7070.

# The Appeal for Change of Residency Status form and supporting documents must be submitted before the first day of classes.

The appeal form and supporting documentation will be reviewed by the Residency Appeals Committee, and the decision will be sent to your college email account within 7 to 10 business days after submission. During the review process, you may be asked to provide additional information to facilitate a clear determination.

For more information about South Carolina residency regulations, access the SC Commission of Higher Education (CHE) Residency Regulations at <u>https://che.sc.gov/student-scholarship-appeals</u>.

OFFICIAL USE: Approved _	Denied	
RESIDENCY OFFICIAL'S SIGNATURE:		
Date Reviewed:		

APPEAL FOR CHANGE OF RESIDENCY STATUS

Student's Name: \_\_\_\_\_\_ ID#: \_\_\_\_\_

To apply for a change in residency classification, submit this form and documentation to the Financial Aid Office at the Student Center. The completed form and documentation can also be emailed to financialaid@csuniv.edu or faxed to (843) 863-7070.

#### The appeal and supporting documents must be submitted before the first day of classes.

**DEPENDENT STUDENTS** applying for a residency change must provide the required documentation from the person claiming them as a dependent or providing 50% or more of their financial support. (Unless this concerns an "undocumented" parent or "non-resident alien," we would need documentation from both the student and parent.)

#### **Out-of-State to In-State Requirements:**

Please check the following required documents you are submitting to be considered a South Carolina resident for state scholarship purposes. Additional supporting documentation can also be submitted.

# Although any single indicator may not be conclusive, the absence of indicia in other states or countries is required.

- \_\_\_\_\_ Valid SC Driver's License or SC Identification Card (must reflect 12 months of residency; if not, a driving record showing your first issued ID will suffice). Failure to obtain this within 90 days of establishing the intent to become a SC resident will delay the beginning date of residency eligibility.
- \_\_\_\_\_ Valid SC Vehicle Registration card (must reflect 12 months of residency unless submitting a letter of full-time employment or proof of retirement). Failure to obtain this within 45 days of establishing the intent to become a SC resident will delay the beginning date of residency eligibility.
- \_\_\_\_ Statement of full-time employment in SC (most recent pay stub).
- \_\_\_\_ Designation of SC as the state of legal residence on military record.
- \_\_\_\_ Maintenance of domicile in SC (lease, utility bill, etc.).
- \_\_\_\_\_ Filing SC income taxes as a resident during the past tax year.
- \_\_\_\_ Ownership of principal residence in SC (deed).
- \_\_\_\_ Licensing for professional practice (if applicable) in SC.

In cases of (62-604 Non-Resident Aliens, Non-Citizens, and Non-Permanent Residents): "Certain non-resident aliens present in the United States in specified visa classifications are eligible to receive in-state residency status for tuition and fee purposes as prescribed by the Commission of Higher Education. They are not, however, eligible to receive state-sponsored tuition assistance/scholarships."

Submitting the petition for residency change does not guarantee a change in residency classification.

Student Signature: \_\_\_\_\_ Date: \_\_\_\_\_

#### CSU PROCEDURES FOR SC HOPE, SC LIFE, AND SC PALMETTO FELLOWS' AWARDS

#### **CSU Commitment:**

- The Financial Aid Office is responsible for overseeing students' eligibility, award amounts, and monitoring adjustments as needed.
- The Financial Aid Office is responsible for reporting, management, and reconciliation of all State Programs.

#### CSU Awarding Process:

- All state scholarship awards have proper documentation attached to the award. These documents are needed to confirm academics and residency. Once all documentation and academic criteria are confirmed, the award is disbursed after the drop/add period for the term.
- Home school students who do not have a class ranking will have their awards based on GPA and SAT/ACT scores.
- CSU has a SC Life and SC Palmetto Fellows scholarship transcript report that incorporates all courses and grades taken at CSU, as well as courses that are transferred to CSU. This report examines repeated courses to ensure hours are not duplicated and also takes into account withdrawn courses. This report is run to confirm academic criteria until the summer session is over.
- CSU has a process (coordinated with the Registrar's Office) that ensures all enrolled courses are required for the student's declared degree. For courses that are not verified, students are contacted, and aid is adjusted accordingly. This report is run until all drop/add periods are over to ensure compliance.
- CSU's financial aid software, PowerFAIDS, has selection sets created to assist in capturing students who may have lost their SC Life Scholarship from a previous year but now qualify for the SC Life Scholarship.
- Study Abroad Programs at CSU have all charges invoiced to CSU, and all transfer courses are acceptable transfer credit. Contracts also include confirmation of students completing coursework while attending the Study Abroad Program.
- CSU's Employee Grant Program allows students to receive book funding for State Program Awards.

#### CSU Procedures for the SC Life and SC Palmetto Fellows Enhancement and Summer Awards:

- Students who have met the continued eligibility requirements for the Palmetto Fellows and LIFE Scholarship, as well as the scholarship enhancement eligibility requirements, are eligible to receive enhancement funds for the summer term.
- A student must be enrolled in an eligible major by the last day to add a course for the summer term.
- Students in their first academic year who have met continued eligibility for the Palmetto Fellows or LIFE Scholarship, along with the enhancement eligibility requirements at the end of the spring term, are eligible to receive enhancement funds starting the immediately succeeding summer term.
- A student who has not met the enhancement eligibility requirements at the end of the spring term is still eligible to use the Palmetto Fellows or LIFE Scholarship base scholarship for the summer term. Freshman students may use the summer to continue working toward the state scholarship enhancement criteria for the upcoming academic year.
- Students enrolled in 12 or more credit hours for the summer semester must complete a CSU Summer State Counseling Form and submit it to the Financial Aid Office before the start of the summer term. The counseling form ensures that the student understands they are using one of their eight semesters of eligibility with no guarantee of early graduation.
- Funds will not be disbursed until confirmation of hours for the last summer session attended.

#### **Residency and Verification Policy:**

- U.S. citizenship and verification of legal presence in the United States are requirements for all CSU students.
- Citizenship is verified through the FAFSA.
- If citizenship cannot be verified through the FAFSA, the following information is required for confirmation:

US Citizen	US Citizen Born Outside US	Eligible non-Citizen
US Birth Certificate	Certificate of Citizenship	Alien Registration Receipt Card
US Passport	US Passport	Passport stamped
		Certificate of Naturalization

#### Selective Service Policy – CSU Selective Service Procedures:

- Required for all U.S. citizens and male immigrants residing in the U.S.
- CSU uses FAFSA to verify Selective Service.

- Men born after December 31, 1960, will not receive aid if registration cannot be confirmed.
- If Selective Service is not verified through FAFSA, CSU will verify through the Selective Service website: <u>Selective Service Verification</u>.
- Any discrepancies in citizenship, Selective Service, and residency are verified before disbursement of state or federal aid.
- CSU offers a flat rate tuition for all students, whether in-state or out-of-state; thus, residency is not needed for tuition purposes.
- All students are required yearly to complete the SC Certification Form verifying they have never been convicted of a felony or drug or alcohol-related misdemeanor.
- New freshmen, transfer and readmit (due to a break in enrollment) students are required to complete the SC Certification Form and the SC Residency Form, as well as two of the additional state documents listed for proof of SC residency. Exceptions for military, divorce, etc., are also noted below.

#### **Residency – Dependent: Purpose**

- SC State Certification Form: Verifies the student has never been convicted of a felony or drug or alcohol misdemeanor.
- SC Residency Form Signed by Parent: Must be signed by both the student and parent. Must have one year of work or be full-time; additional documentation may be needed. The address must be the same on the FAFSA and other residency paperwork.
- **Copy of Parent's Driver's License:** Must be issued at least one year before the term start date. The address must match FAFSA and other residency paperwork. If not a year old, a driving record will be requested.
- **Copy of Parent's Vehicle Registration:** Address must match FAFSA and other residency paperwork. If less than 45 days old, additional documentation may be requested.

#### **Residency – Independent: Purpose**

- SC State Certification Form: Verifies the student has never been convicted of a felony or drug or alcohol misdemeanor.
- SC Residency Form Signed by Student: Must be signed by the student. Must have one year of work or be full-time; additional documentation may be needed. The address must match FAFSA and other residency paperwork.
- **Copy of Student's Driver's License:** Must be issued at least one year before the term start date. The address must match FAFSA and other residency paperwork. If not a year old, a driving record will be requested.

• **Copy of Student's Vehicle Registration:** The address must match FAFSA and other residency paperwork. If less than 45 days old, additional documentation may be requested.

#### **Residency – Military: CSU Documentation**

- **SC Residents:** Must continue to claim SC as their state of residency. If changed, the student will lose their SC resident status.
  - **Required Documentation:** Leave and Earnings Statement and other residency documentation required by CSU.
- Assigned to SC: Military members permanently assigned to SC on active duty may qualify for residency under an exception category.
  - **Required Documentation:** Copy of Military Orders.

#### **Special Cases: CSU Documentation**

- **Divorce:** Certain scenarios where divorce could affect the loss or continuation of the state award:
  - If joint custody and one parent is an SC resident.
  - Parent claiming the child on income taxes.
  - Parent that is an SC resident and pays child support over the cost of attendance dictated by the college.
  - The CSU Financial Aid Office will need proof of all normal residency documentation from the parent who claims the student has custody or pays child support. For child support, documentation of the amount paid is required.
- Move Out of State: If an independent student or dependent student's parents move out of state if the student is continuously enrolled during all regular academic terms and the family lived in SC for three years. If the CSU Financial Aid Office does not have three years of proof, we need to obtain proper documentation to prove continued residency eligibility.
- **Company Transfers:** SC resident eligibility needs to be proven at the time of the student's high school graduation. Normal residency documents requested by the Financial Aid Office will need to be obtained.

#### Disbursements:

• The CSU Financial Aid Office does not disburse federal, state, institutional, or outside funding until after the initial drop/add period to ensure confirmation of hours.

• For summer awards, state aid is not disbursed until confirmation of full-time hours is verified after the latest drop/add period.

#### **Reporting:**

• Per CHE regulations, the Financial Aid Office is responsible for providing scholarship data to the Commission by the deadline provided for each semester. The template provided by CHE is used for the submission of data. Deadline dates can be found at <u>CHEMIS</u>.

#### South Carolina National Guard

#### Award:

- \$5,500 for Air Guard (amount awarded each year based on funding)
- \$5,500 for Army Guard (amount awarded each year based on funding)
- Awards are divided evenly between fall and spring semesters
- Awards cannot exceed the Cost of Attendance; all aid is inclusive
- 130 maximum hours
- \$22,000 aggregate limit

**About:** Developed by the Commission on Higher Education, the SC Army and Air Force National Guard provide college assistance incentives to enlisting or remaining guardsmen.

#### **Initial Eligibility:**

- Students must apply to the National Guard between June 1 and August 1 each year, and between November 20 and December 15 each year.
  - o Army and Air Guard application link
- Guardsmen seeking to enroll in only spring and/or summer must complete a new application with the Commission.
- Must be a first-degree-seeking student at an eligible institution.
- Must meet the school's Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).
- Must be a US citizen or legal permanent resident.
- Must satisfy any additional eligibility requirements as promulgated by the Commission.
- Must be a South Carolina resident.

CSU downloads the approved list of eligible soldiers in mid-August through the Single Sign-On portal (sc.gov).

Procedures for SC National Guard Member Awards

#### **CSU Commitment:**

- The Financial Aid Office is responsible for overseeing students' eligibility, award amounts, and necessary monitoring and adjustments.
- The Financial Aid Office manages the reporting and reconciliation of the SC National Guard College Assistance Program.

#### **CSU Awarding Process:**

- CSU begins downloading the eligible list of SC National Guard members in August, following the application deadline of August 1. The list is downloaded from CHE's website to an Excel sheet and saved on our secure financial aid drive.
- CSU will verify the following information before awarding to ensure compliance with SC National Guard Policy.

#### **Verification Policy:**

- US citizenship and verification of legal presence in the United States are requirements for all CSU students.
- Citizenship is verified through the FAFSA.
- If citizenship cannot be verified through the FAFSA, the following information is required for confirmation:
  - US Citizen: US Birth Certificate, US Passport
  - US Citizen Born Outside the US: Certificate of Citizenship, US Passport, Certificate of Naturalization
  - Eligible Non-Citizen: Alien Registration Receipt Card, Passport stamped

#### **Selective Service Policy:**

- Required for all US citizens and male immigrants residing in the US.
- CSU uses FAFSA to verify Selective Service.
- Any discrepancies in citizenship or Selective Service are verified prior to the disbursement of SC National Guard awards.
- The Financial Aid Office verifies acceptance, first-degree seeking status, and enrollment after the drop/add period for each semester. This information is verified through our registration software, Jenzabar. Award amounts are confirmed based on enrollment status: full-time, three-quarters time, half-time, or less than half-time. Awards for students who are less than full-time are prorated based on regulation 62-252 G(2). These amounts are updated on the eligible list of SC National Guard members.
- The Financial Aid Office verifies cumulative credit hours attempted through our registration software, Jenzabar. Hours attempted are only verified from the time of enrollment in the SC National Guard CAP Program. These semester hours include all semester hours, whether passed or failed. Verification of the student's maximum 130 attempted hours is also done through this software.

 Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) is run yearly on all students after the spring semester (May) and again after the summer semester (mid-August). Below are the Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Standards. Aid is not disbursed until the student has either (1) met SAP standards or (2) completed a SAP for Charleston Southern (for all aid except the National Guard) and completed a SAP for the SC National Guard College Assistance Program.

#### CSU Satisfactory Academic Progress Standards:

- Attempted UG Hours: All
- Cumulative GPA: 2.0
- Must not have attempted more than 150 hours.
- Must have a completion rate of 67% or higher (Earned Hours vs. Attempted Hours).

Once all criteria are verified, the Financial Aid Office will upload the file to the CHE National Guard website. After funds are disbursed to the student's account, the Financial Aid Office will send names and award amounts to our Business Office. Our Business Office will then invoice the SC National Guard College Assistance Program, addressed to Lorinda Copeland, SC Commission on Higher Education, 1122 Lady Street, Suite 300, Columbia, SC 29201-3245, or via email (Mincy, Alfie) at AMincy@che.sc.gov.