CENTRAL CAROLINA TECHNICAL COLLEGE

The Office of Financial Aid and Veterans' Affairs at Central Carolina Technical College has a system in place for awarding lottery funds including SC LIFE Scholarship, SC Palmetto Fellows Scholarship, SC National Guard College Assistance Program, SC Need Based Grant, SC Lottery Tuition Assistance, SC Workforce Industry Needs Scholarship, and SC Workforce Scholarship and Grants. Based upon the rules and regulations set forth by the Commission on Higher Education and the SC State Technical College System, our financial aid management system, Banner, is modified to include algorithmic programming rules. The algorithmic rules use class rank, major, high school and collegiate GPA, year in college, need, residency, credit hours earned, etc. to ensure that only eligible students are awarded these funds and the amounts in which they are awarded are correct.

Central Carolina Technical College also has both internal and external auditing procedures in place to ensure compliance with the rules and regulations. The financial aid office and the business office perform internal audits of the lottery fund awards multiple times during the academic year when completing the required State Tech Reports and CHE State Scholarship Report. Our external partners Maudlin & Jenkins, LLC. complete yearly external audits of the state scholarships and grants programs. The auditors select an appropriate sample size to verify that award recipients meet all eligibility requirements including monitoring credit hours earned, high school and collegiate GPA, major, etc., and that award amounts are correct.

Life Lottery Palmetto Fellows SCNBG NGCAP

STATE AID PROGRAMS IN WHICH INSTITUTION PARTICIPATES

Policies

Central Carolina Technical College Participates in the following state aid: SC Lottery Tuition Assistance Program, SC Need-Based Grant, SC Promise, SC WINS, and LIFE Scholarship. Last updated: March 2020

Procedures

The Office of Financial Aid & Veterans' Affairs is responsible for abiding by the state aid funds regulations in order to award students these funds to assist in educational expenses. Last updated: August 2020

South Carolina Need-based Grant - Foster Care

The South Carolina Need-based Grant for Foster Care Youth will be awarded to youth in the custody of the Department of Social Services with independent living as part of the case plan or youth who were in the custody of DSS at 18 years of age.

In order to receive funds the student must be currently in foster care or classified as independent youth. Therefore, the age range would be 18-24. A foster care youth status changes to independent living once they age out of DSS (18 years), but still considered foster care for these funds since they were never adopted. Their status does not change; they just are no longer a part of the DSS system.

The Financial Aid Office will award the maximum Need-based Grant (\$2500) to each foster youth as per State Statute and Need-based Grant regulation.

SC Need -based Grant (SCNBG) Regulations section 62.470:

F. Institutions must give first priority and award the maximum allowable Need-based Grant (\$3,500 if full-time or \$1,750 if part-time) to students who are in the custody of the South Carolina Department of Social Services (DSS). However, institutions should not award the maximum amount if, by doing so, this causes the student to exceed the unmet need according to Title IV Regulations. Students who may be eligible under this provision are responsible for contacting the institution and providing official verification to the institution that he/she is in custody of DSS. Acceptable verification shall include a letter from DSS.

A brochure for students is available at the following link:

http://www.che.sc.gov/CHE_Docs/studentservices/needbased/FCY_Published.pdf

If a student thinks he/she may be eligible for the South Carolina Need-based Grant for Foster Care Youth they may apply by filling out and signing a Waiver Form. The form can be found on the SC CHE website at the following link: http://www.che.sc.gov/CHE_Docs/studentservices/needbased/files/FCY-Waiver-Form-2014.pdf

A copy of this form is sent to the SC DSS and to the SC Commission on Higher Education. If they are eligible for these funds the Coordinator of DSS will contact our college's Financial Aid Office so this student can be awarded.

Students awarded SCNBG funds under the Foster Care Youth program must still meet all applicable eligibility criteria (refer to "Eligibility Checks" section.) Each applicant will be carefully monitored.

Once the form is submitted to the necessary parties listed on the Foster Care Youth Waiver form, it will be necessary for each institution to make sure that the request for the additional funding for Foster Care youth is included on the invoice submitted to the Commission. In identifying these students and funds CHE will be able to add the requested additional amounts to the institution's allocations.

Awarding Funds for the FCY SCNBG Program

- Go to "ROARMAN" and click on "Maintain Awards"; type in the Fund Code "SNBF" with "O" for offered in Status.
- Save
- Award amounts will be up to \$3500 a year.

Once verification of their status' has been completed, invoices are submitted to the Commission with an indication those funds that are FCY. Please send the Business Office an email with the eligible student's information so she can invoice the CHE for the funding.

Contacts at the CHE are posted on their website, www.che.sc.gov.

A letter with a SC Need-based Grant certification form will be mailed to the student. When the student returns the certification form and all questions are answered correctly, go to

- "ROARMAN" and click on "Maintain Awards"; change the "O" to "A" for accepted.
- Save.
- Go to "Tracking" and on status type in "S".
- Save. Go back to "ROARMAN" and click on "Step 3."

The student's award will be based on their enrollment status.

A copy of the students SC Need Based Affidavit, information from DSS, as well as the approval from CHE regarding eligibility is kept in the office of the Counselor for Scholarships and State Aid. Students should provide documentation that they were not adopted and did not return to the custody of their parents. All requests for information from students are kept on file and those who are deemed eligible are separated by academic year.

For more information, contact the SC Commission on Higher Education at www.che.sc.gov. Last updated: October 2023

South Carolina Need-based Grant

Policies

The South Carolina Need-based Grant is awarded to SC resident students who meet eligibility. Student must fill out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid, and must have a financial need as established for Title IV programs student eligibility is as follows per Section 62-465. Be a "needy student" following the financial need analysis as established under Title IV Regulations for determining eligibility for Federal Student Aid.

- The student must file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) Form;
- Be a U.S. citizen or a lawful permanent resident that meets the definition of an eligible noncitizen under State Residency Statutes whose lawful presence in the US has been verified at the time of enrollment at the institution;
- Be a resident of the state of South Carolina for twelve consecutive months as defined in Chapter 112 of Title 59 of the 1976 Code of Laws governing the determination of residency for tuition and fee purposes;

- Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment as a part-time or full-time degree-seeking student in an eligible program of study at an eligible public institution in South Carolina. A student enrolled in less than six credit hours during one semester may not receive a Need-based Grant for the semester in question but is eligible for reapplication for a grant upon return to part-time or full-time status;
- Be enrolled and attending or have completed at the time of the grant disbursement in a minimum of six credit hours if part-time for the semester or twelve credit hours if full-time for the semester;
- Certify that he/she has not been adjudicated delinquent or been convicted or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any felonies or any second or subsequent alcohol or drug-related offenses under the laws of this or any other state or under the laws of the United States in order to be eligible for a South Carolina Need-based Grant,
- Verify that he/she does not owe a refund or repayment on a State Grant, a Pell Grant, or a Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant and is not in default on a loan under the Federal Perkins Loan or Federal Stafford Loan Programs; and
- Must reapply for the Need-based Grant each academic year and meet all eligibility requirements annually.

Students who have previously earned credit hours and are applying for the South Carolina Need-based Grant for the first time must have earned at least a cumulative 2.0 grade point average on a 4.0 scale for graduation purposes at the end of the academic year before being awarded the Grant.

The South Carolina Need-based Grant is dependent upon action by the General Assembly and amounts are contingent upon the availability of funds to be appropriated for the program. The funds are distributed on a first come first serve basis, therefore all eligible students will not be awarded because of limited funds.

Last updated: October 2023

Procedures

Banner is programmed to award the South Carolina Need-based Grant to students when funds are available. Each student will be awarded \$3500 and will be in the "Offered" category. Per Section 62-490:" A.The participating institution will identify award amounts; which cannot exceed \$1750 per eligible part time student and \$3500 per eligible full time student per academic year.

An email will be sent with a link on the CCTC website for the Certification and Affidavit form, which the student is required to fill out and sign electronically. This form is returned to the Financial Aid Office and checked to make sure the student is eligible.

Eligibility checks:

• Student must self-certify on the affidavit that he or she has completed the FAFSA, does not have a two- or four-year degree, is a resident of South Carolina, and has not been convicted of a felony

- Student must have a current 2.0 GPA (SHATERM)
- Student must not have completed an Associate's or Bachelor's Degree (SHADGMQ or SOAPCOL)
- Student cannot have received SCNBG for more than eight semesters (Banner will not allow such an award to be placed on a student's account, but you can double-check a student's awards for past years on RPAAWRD or TSICSRV.)
- If a student was awarded SCNBG in the past, for renewal he or she must have a 2.0 cumulative GPA and have earned all credit hours attempted during the semester of the award. Because all students are awarded at the half-time rate (currently \$875), student must earn at least 6 credit hours per semester. If a part-time student does not earn 6 credit hours during the semester of the award, he/she is no longer eligible for the award per Section 62-475: "For continued eligibility, the student is required to: For graduation purposes, earn at least 24 credit hours each regular academic year if awarded a Need-based Grant as a full-time student or earn at least twelve credit hours if awarded a Need-based Grant as a part-time student. If a student is awarded a Need-based Grant for one semester of the academic year as a parttime student and the other semester as a full-time student, the student must earn at least eighteen credit hours each regular academic year. If a full-time student is awarded a Needbased Grant for only one semester of the academic year, the student must earn at least twelve credit hours by the end of the academic year. A part-time student who is awarded a Needbased Grant for only one semester must earn at least six credit hours by the end of the academic year. Credits earned during any additional semesters (i.e., interim, winterim or other non-regular semester) cannot be used to replace or reduce the minimum credit hour requirement for the regular academic year; "
 - Students may only receive SCNBG for two semesters of an academic year.

If a student is determined not to be, eligible for the Grant the comment is added on RHACOMM regarding why student was disqualified.

The administrative assistant also receives an electronic copy of the affidavit which is then scanned into the student's file.

To award a SCNBG: After checking the Certification form, go to:

- "ROARMAN", click on "Tracking" and put an "S" in the status column for SCNBG affidavit.
- Save
- Go back to "ROARMAN" and click on "Applicant Immediate Process" and run "Step 3." This will award them SCNBG for their enrollment status.

Approximately every week, run an "ARGOS" report to check for students who have dropped all classes, enrolled in less than ½, or have not returned their certification form. These students' awards are removed from their accounts and re-awarded to eligible students.

Last updated: October 2023

Reconciling SCNBG

RFRMGMT – Fund Management

The campus based funding is sent to the Director of Accounting in the Business Office (currently Cheryl Allen-Lint), and they are asked to tell FA how much we can award the students. The amount is noted on RFRMGMT, Fund Comment tab. (below) ***Important to remember the amount includes what we move to Foster Care SNBF.

For 2324 this example over commit already reduced back to allocation:							
Transfer -15,000 (amount moved to Foster Care SNBF)							
Budget Allocated	361,085 (amount from Cheryl of allocation)						
Total Allocated	346,085						
Available to Offer	346,085 (normally we over commit 25-35%, Director's decision)						
Over Commitment %	100.00 (over commit, put % ex 130.00 or as Available to Offer amount)						

RFRMGMT-Fund Comments

RFIBUDG-Fund Budget Inquiry

Used to make sure funds are adjusted, spent by end of Spring term and paid amount balances to allocation.

Below is a copy of the middle of the RFIBUDG above. This area of RFIBUDG comes from RFRMGMT

Below is a copy of the bottom of the RFIBUDG above. This is the area to watch for clean-up, funds to spend and balancing the fund to the allocation.

Using these copies of RFIBUDG for reference...

Fall Term – Clean-Up Fund after Drop/Add

After drop/add period, coordinate with the counselor who handles the cleanup to ensure adequate time to clean up SCNBG.

• EMAIL THE STAFF -When ready to start, email the staff to let them know if they package a student off ROAIMMP or in batch processing and SCNBG awards, take the award off. Tell them you will let them know when the process is complete and they no longer have to remove the aid. Designee will need to let you know finished with cleanup. Designee will need to wait until you have changed the available to offer before re-awarding the funds.

Designee uses the REC001 Fund Awarding to clean up the funds...

• CHECK RFIBUDG, CURRENT OFFER LESS THAN TOTAL ALLOCATED - Current Offer should be less than Total Allocated. Memoed amount should \$0 there was a reason to leave it for now. If current offer is less than total allocated then go to RFRMGMT and change the Available to Offer to the Total Allocated. Good time to check Fund Comments to verify the allocation amount. If the Available to Offer is not lower than Total Allocated, then we have awarded more than we really have to give. Need to remove aid off students and get under the amount of allocation prior to disbursing funds. You may be able to remove aid if no affidavit returned in the 15 days since it is on the email, or worst case remove spring and notify students.

• RFRMGMT CHANGED, RFIBUDG REMAINING AMOUNT/ACTUAL REMAINING AMOUNT **Now that RFRMGMT Available to Offer is the same as the Total Allocation, on RFIBUDG the Remaining Amount and the Actual Remaining Amount should be the same. This is the amount available to reaward. This is the time you let the staff know if the fund awards, they no longer have to remove it.

**If using over commit where the Available to Offer is more than the Total Allocation, the Remaining Amount is using the Available to Offer with the over commit minus Current Offers and the Actual Remaining Amount is the Total Allocated NO over commit minus Current Offers.

SPRING TERM

Do all the steps for the Fall for Spring, but the Total Allocation must be awarded and PAID before the end of the Spring Term. Need to periodically check to get all authorized and memo to PAID to match Total Allocation.

• **You must move any unused funds from Foster Care SNBF back to SCNBG and award these funds

Check with Designee to make sure all the Foster Care students are complete. On RFRMGMT for SNBF, for the Transfer Amount, change to the amount spent in SNBF. Example originally moved \$15,000 to SNBF from SCNBG. If \$5,000 was spent in SNBF then change SNBF Transfer Amount to \$5,000. On RFRMGMT for SCNBG, Transfer Amount lower by amount removed from SNBF. In this example, would lower Transfer Amount on SCNBG by \$10,000. End result would show Transfer Amount SNBF \$5,000 and SCNBG Transfer Amount -\$5,000.

Last updated: October 2023

South Carolina National Guard

The South Carolina Commission of Higher Education in conjunction with the South Carolina National Guard administrates the South Carolina National Guard College Assistance Program (CAPS) for active members of the South Carolina Army (SCARNG) and Air National Guard (SCANG).

National Guard students must apply and be approved annually during the application window; 1 June – 1 Aug.

CAPS covers up to the cost of attendance with a maximum annual, and cumulative financial and/or credit hour limit. There is currently a maximum life time award of \$18,000 and 130 attempted credit hours. Students must be making Satisfactory Academic Progress as detailed in the VA and CAP

student Standards of Academic progress and published in the CCTC annual catalog. Students cannot already possess a Bachelor's Degree.

SCARNG: maximum of \$4500 per award year (fall, spring, summer) SCANG: maximum of \$9000 per award year (fall, spring, summer)

Army National Guard

Full time enrollment-12 credit hours or more \$2250.00

¾ enrollment9 to 11 credit hours½ enrollment6 to 8 credit hours	\$1687.50 \$1125.00
Less than ½	
¼ time: 3-5 credit hours	\$562.50
Less than ¼ time: 2 credit hours	\$375.00 (2/12 x \$2250)
Less than ¼ time: 1 credit hour	\$.50 (1/12 x \$2250)
(Approximately \$187.50 / credit hour)	

Air National Guard

Full time enrollment-12 credit hours or more¾ enrollment9 to 11 credit hours½ enrollment6 to 8 credit hours	\$4500.00 \$3375.00 \$2250.00							
Less than ½								
¼ time: 3-5 credit hours \$1125.00								
Less than ¼ time: 2 credit hours	\$750 (2/12 x \$4500)							
Less than ¼ time: 1 credit hours \$375 (2/12 x \$4500) Less than ¼ time: 1 credit hour \$375 (1/12 x \$4500)								
(Approximately \$375 / credit hour)								

Awarding CAPS (Student will have to have completed FAFSA):

- ROARMAN and Maintain Awards
- Ensure the Cost of Attendance minus all offered funds, does not exceed the Cost of Attendance amount, or something must be reduced
- Enter either SCARNG or SCANG and status, then either 4500 or 9000
- Accepted and Step 3 to disburse
- CHE has implemented a web portal to identify approved CAP students
 - Yearly approvals should be available approximately 1 week after the end of application date, approximately 8 August
- An end of term report will be required to CHE and include Business Office as cc
 - students awarded CAPS including amount, hours, cumulative amount, hours, and SAP status
 - CHE web portal is to be used to submit the update

Point of Contact:

- Lorinda Copeland, SC Commission on Higher Education (lcopeland@che.sc.gov)
 - o 1122 Lady Street, Suite 300, Columbia SC 29201
 - o **803-737-2157**

Last updated: August 2020

Lottery Tuition Assistance Program

The Lottery Tuition Assistance Program funds supplement the student financial aid awards. Actual award amounts are dependent upon the number of eligible students and the amount of funding available each academic year by the State.

Lottery Tuition Assistance may not exceed the cost of in-state tuition and the award amount is limited to the highest in-state tuition rate. Each year the State approves an amount the lottery will pay up to per credit hour.

In calculating the amount awarded in Lottery Tuition Assistance, all federal grants and Need-based Grants must be awarded first before determining the amount eligible in Lottery Tuition Assistance to be used for payment towards cost-of-tuition.

The student must be a SC resident, file a FAFSA or meet the requirements for a Lottery Waiver Form.

The packaging of lottery is based on an equity level of tuition for a year (fall/spring).

During the packaging process of awarding, RPEPCKG, the system first awards SEOG and SCNBG if the student is eligible. The process then adds any Pell, SEOG or SCNBG and if the student meets all requirements of the lottery, then any difference the student is awarded lottery up to the amount of the equity level.

There is a 3-step process during the adjustment of the aid to the number of hours a student is enrolled in.

The first step is RPEDISB which prorates the amount of Pell according to how many hours the student is enrolled in.

The second step is RZPLOTT which takes the tuition amount for the hours the student is enrolled; subtracts the Pell and any remaining difference the lottery amount adjusts to assuming the amount is not more than the approved credit hour amount allowed by the state.

The final step is to run RPEDISB which will apply the amount figured in step 2.

Lottery Reports

LOTT 006 – Lottery after Packaging

Run report by term. Will show students hours, tuition/fee amount allowed by lottery and difference of lottery needed to award after other aid considered for enrollment.

Sometimes a student is not awarded lottery during packaging because of the equity level is met by the other aid that has to pay prior to lottery award. Once a student is enrolled the other aid amount may not be enough to cover tuition/fee and lottery is awarded manually when warranted.

LOTT 001-Lottery Authorization Amounts by Term

Run report by term. The report verifies the lottery amount per credit hour against the tuition/fee amount and after other aid is considered. If the amount is wrong the report produces the students to fix manually.

Lottery Waivers

A Lottery Waiver Assistance Form is a request for Lottery Tuition Assistance when the student will not be eligible for Title IV monies by filling out the Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for the following reason or reasons.

- 1. High school student in a dual enrollment program
- 2. Have already earned a Bachelor's Degree
- 3. Dependent student who cannot get parents' or guardians' tax forms
- 4. Student must state the reason if the others do not apply

Procedures:

Lottery waiver forms for non-dually enrolled students are found on the CCTC website in the Forms Library. They are completed electronically and received and scanned by the Administrative Assistant for Financial Aid. On "ROAERNL" make sure the student is at least 6 credit hours. Check SGASTDN to make sure the student is in an eligible major.

On RRAAREQ, add the LOTWAI tracking requirement and satisfy.

	All	10/29/2020						
REQUIREMENTS								
Requirement *	Desc	ription	Status *	Status Date *	Established Date			
LOTWAI	Lott	ery Waiver	S	10/29/2020	10/29/2020			
Image: Image Image								

On RPAAWRD, add the correct amount of lottery under the correct term. Award Maintenance Award Schedule Disbursement Schedule Direct Loan Interface

FUND AWARDS									
Fund	Description	Status	Offered	Accepted	Declined or Ca				
LOTT	Lottery Tuition Assistance	А	660.00	660.00					
		Totals	660.00	660.00					
📕 ┥ 1 of 1	▶ 🕨 10 🗸 Per Page								

On ROAIMMP, click immediate disbursement:

APPLICANT IMMEDIATE PROCESS		
	Action Indicator	Period
Tracking Group Assignment	(None)	
Budgeting Group Assignment	(None)	
Packaging Group Assignment	(None) 💌	
Packaging Fund Assignment	(None) 💌	
Need Analysis Calculation	(None) 💌	
Period Budget Grouping	(None) 💌	
Period Budget Recalculation		
Immediate Pell Calculation		
Evaluate Courses in Program of Study		
Disbursement Date Update		
Immediate Disbursement		Period
Immediate TEACH Calculation		Fund
SAP		Calculated From Term

Letter Generation

Last updated November 2020

Procedures for High School Dual Enrollment students:

Lottery waivers are completed electronically as part of the dual enrollment student's application process. A weekly report will be forwarded from the Dual Enrollment Office to the Financial Aid Office showing students who have completed the waiver form.

	DE/LTA Report s of 2020-11-02 08:39:26 Eastern Standard Time/EST • Generated by Leann Tuders														
Shov Stud Is Sti	Filtered By Show: All schools Student Type equals Dual Enrollment is Student Text Record Requals False Application Decision equals Accepted														
Cont	act ID		Banner ID	First Name	Last Name	Application Submit Date	MailingCounty	Alt Email	High School County	DE HS Checkbox	DE Dependent Checkbo	DE Ineligible Major Checkbox	DE Bachelor's Degree Checkbox	True and Correct	Electronic Signature
Tota	1	Sum								0	0	(0	0	
		Count	0												

On RRAAREQ, click on "tracking group", type in "HSSTD" and save. LOTWAI will populate as a requirement. Change "R" to "S" to satisfy.

Applicant Requirements Perkins MPN Detail Additional Requirements Direct Loan MPNs										
SUMMARY										
Create Requirement Delete Requirement										
Tracking Group HSSTD High School Student										
	Request Letter									
	Lock Group									
Requirements Compl	eted Dates									
All	10/29/2020									
REQUIREMENTS										
equirement * Des	cription	Status *	Status Date *	Established Date						
OTWAI Lottery Waiver S 10/29/2020 10/29/2020										
▲ 1 of 1 ► ► 10 ▼ Per Page										
SBGI Description										

On RPAAWRD, add the correct lottery amount under the correct term:

Award Mainte	nance Award Schedule	Disbursement	Schedule Dire	ect Loan Interface						
FUND AWARDS										
Fund	Description		Status	Offered	Accepted	Declined or Ca				
LOTT	Lottery Tuition Assista	nce	A	660.00	660.00					
			Totals	660.00	660.00					
◀ 1 0	f 1 🕨 刘 🛛 10 🗸	Per Page								

On ROAIMMP, click on immediate disbursement.

APPLICANT IMMEDIATE PROCESS		
	Action Indicator	Period
Tracking Group Assignment	(None)	
Budgeting Group Assignment	(None)	
Packaging Group Assignment	(None) 💌	
Packaging Fund Assignment	(None) 💌	
Need Analysis Calculation	(None) 👻	
Period Budget Grouping	(None) 💌	
Period Budget Recalculation		
Immediate Pell Calculation		
Evaluate Courses in Program of Study		
Disbursement Date Update		
Immediate Disbursement		Period
Immediate TEACH Calculation		Fund
SAP		Calculated From Term

Letter Generation

Last updated: November 2020

Lottery GPA Report

After grades are posted for the summer term, ARGOS lottery reports are run to check students with attempted hours greater than 24 and if their cumulative GPA is equal to or greater than 2.0 to remain eligible for lottery in the new academic year.

Argos Folder - Lottery Argos Report - LOTT004

Double click on the LTA System and will see Step 1-Existing LTA GPA Report.

1. Update ROAUSDF and Email Students

Step 1, are students 'Not Eligible GPA <2'. Identifies students last semester they attended at the end of the academic year, that's earned less than a 2.0 cumulative GPA and has greater than 24 attempted hours.

If the students showing are not eligible for lottery in the new academic year, highlight their names and use below the listing of students, Step 1: Update ROBUSDF to automatically update ROAUSDF value 6=Y for the new academic year. This value will not allow the students to be awarded.

Once the update is complete, to the right of the list of students, click on Step 1- Email Students Form. The students updated, will be emailed and RUAMAIL will be updated as FA_GPA :

Dear %%ArgosData.FName%%

In order to maintain eligibility in the Lottery Tuition Assistance program, you must after attempting 24 credit hours, earn at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA by the end of the academic year.

Our records indicate you have not met the eligibility requirement to receive the Lottery Tuition Assistance at this time.

You can check your cumulative GPA on MyCCTC and if you have any questions concerning this decision, please contact the Financial Aid Office.

Sincerely, CCTC Financial Aid Office Phone 803 778-7831 Email finaid@cctech.edu

2. Remove Lottery Report

Some students will already be awarded and lottery will need to be reversed on the new academic year. To the right of the list of students, click on Step 2: Remove Lottery Report On RPAAWRD for Lott, change the award status code from A (accepted) to I (ineligible). If LOTT is memo or authorized for the term, on ROAIMMP run Step 1 of disbursement for the term to remove any memo or authorization of the fund.

3. LTA Discrepancy Report

Some students will have ROAUSDF value 6=Y but now cumulative GPA >=2.0 and attempted hours >=24. To the right of the list of students, click on Step 3:LTA Discrepancy Report On ROAUSDF value 6, delete the Y.

If the lottery isn't awarded on RPAAWRD, then put on LOTT with status code = A (accepted) and us the current full time semester amount for the term in the aid period. Example FA/SP \$1140 Fall/\$1140 Spring = \$2280 for offered and accepted.

Run all 3 steps of Disbursement on ROAIMMP by term and system will memo/authorized by enrollment for the term.

Last updated: July 2012

3.4.4.3 Lottery Field of Study Report **Policy**:

Procedure:

ARGOS report will for the term, financial aid year and what day you want it run to the present date. This report is run once a week. The report will pull students during the time specified:

- Have had a program change within the term requested.
- Previously received lottery and at least 24 attempted hours
- Presently receive lottery
- Within the last 5 years have earned a certificate, diploma or degree

• ***If the student meeting the above criteria shows a previous college on SOAPCOL the student is marked with *99999.

The printout will show on right if the student:

- Stayed in the same field of study.
- This grouping is determined by the VP of Academic Affairs each year.
- If they stayed in same field of study but not progressing.
- If they are not in the same field of study
- Will be blank if they meet the criteria to be eligible for the lottery

If the student is not eligible the lottery is cancelled and a tracking message LOTFLD is placed on RRAAREQ as 'R' to notify the student they are no longer eligible for the lottery.

***Previous college students. A tracking message LOTFSC as 'R' is placed on RRAAREQ as 'R' to notify the student they are no presently eligible for the lottery until they bring documentation from their previous college to show dates attend and if they received lottery while trying to earn their certificate, diploma or degree.

LIFE Scholarship

Policies

The Legislative Incentive for Future Excellence (LIFE) Scholarship, a state program, is administered by the financial aid office, in compliance with the regulations determined by the SC Commission on Higher Education and the SC legislature. The regulations are made public through the commission's website at: http://www.che.sc.gov/CHE_Docs/StudentServices/Regulations/ApprovedRegulation_LIFEScholarshipan dScholarshipEnhancement.pdf Last updated: May 2017

Procedures

First Time Students

- 1. Students who wish to be considered for LIFE Scholarship must submit a final HS transcript. A LIFE certification form (found on CCTC's website under the Forms Library) must also be submitted electronically by the student. Student is notified of award via CCTC email.
- 2. When the LIFE certification form is received in the financial aid office, the student's information in Banner is checked for the following:
- a. SOAHSCH High School Graduation Year and Final GPA
- b. SGASTDN CCTC Official Program of Study and date of initial enrollment
- c. SHATERM Any college transfer credits received

d. ROAENRL – Student's enrollment in the term for which LIFE is requested, also noted is number of DVS classes, as this may affect eligibility.

3. 1) If a first-time student has a 3.0 or higher final high school GPA, and meets all other eligibility requirements, the student is awarded a LIFE Scholarship in the maximum allowable amount, currently \$2500 per semester.

Awarding LIFE Scholarship:

On SOAGPAT, enter the final high school transcript information exactly as it appears on SOAHSCH. The first line GPA type is "INIT." On the second line, copy the information exactly as entered, with the exception of the GPA column which will be entered as "LIFE" instead of "INIT," and Central Carolina's school code will be entered instead of the high school's.

APPLICANT GPA TYPES								
GPA Type *	GPA Description	GPA *	+/- Used *	School *	School Description	Application Number *	Term *	
INIT -	 Initial High School GPA 	3.49900000		410175	Lee Central (Bishop) High Sch		2 201920	(
LIFE	LIFE Scholarship GPA	3.49900000		003995	Central Carolina Technical Col		2 201920	(
K ≤ (1) of 1 ≥)) 10 → Per Page Record								

A student must be enrolled in at least twelve credit hours numbered at the 101 or higher level in order to receive LIFE Scholarship. If a student is enrolled in fewer than twelve credit hours of nondevelopmental courses and at least 3 credit hours of developmental classes, the student may use only the first two semesters of enrollment as "waiver" semesters. The student may not be awarded LIFE, but the waiver semesters will not count against the student's terms of eligibility. Section 62-1200.10 of the CHE LIFE Scholarship Regulations: I. Credit hours earned during the student's first two term(s) of remedial/developmental enrollment will not be used to determine remaining Scholarship eligibility at the completion of remediation unless the student has completed at least twelve credit hours of nonremedial/developmental coursework each term of enrollment. First-time entering freshmen attending an eligible two-year institution or technical college who enroll in fewer than twelve credit hours of nonremedial/developmental, including at least three hours of remedial/developmental courses during the first term(s) will not be eligible for Scholarship funds during this period. The student's initial college enrollment will begin after a maximum of two terms of remediation at an eligible two-year or technical college only. The student will be eligible for the Scholarship for the term following completion of remediation if the student was eligible to receive the LIFE Scholarship upon high school graduation. If the student requires more than one academic year of remedial/developmental coursework, then he/she will not be eligible for the LIFE Scholarship the term after completion of remediation.

Banner is programmed to automatically award students who meet LIFE eligibility requirements. The LIFE affidavit is submitted electronically by e-mail from the student to the State Aid and Scholarships Counselor. When the signed LIFE affidavit is received and reviewed, go to ROARMAN and click on "Tracking." Change the LIFE Affidavit requirement from "R" to "S." Save and exit. On ROARMAN, click on "Maintain Awards." Change the LIFE award from "O" offered status to "A" accepted. Save and exit. Review ROAENRL to determine any DVS course enrollment. Contact any students who are enrolled in at least nine credit hours of non-DVS courses to determine if they wish to add another non-DVS class and become eligible for LIFE.

To identify any students who may have been overlooked, run the ARGOS report "FA Newly Admitted LIFE eligible students" weekly during the summer prior to fall enrollment.

LIFE affidavits are received electronically by the Counselor for State Aid and Scholarships and also scanned into Extender.

4. After the drop / add period, the scholarship coordinator will review the enrollment (ROAENRL) for all students awarded LIFE funds to ensure compliance. In addition, a second review will be conducted of all final high school transcripts to ensure that the transcripts are marked "final," they are signed in ink or electronically by the high school principal or designee, and the high school graduation date is on or before June 15 of the calendar year.

5. Students who do not meet the requirement are contacted and asked if they plan to add hours during the second mini-mester. If not, then the LIFE Scholarship is removed from the student's award package.

Transfer Students

6. Transfer students who wish to be considered for LIFE Scholarship must submit a final HS transcript, official transcripts for all colleges attended, and self-identify to the financial aid office. A LIFE certification form (found on CCTC's website under the Forms Library) must also be submitted by the student. Student is notified of award via CCTC email.

7. When the LIFE certification form is received in the financial aid office, the student's information in Banner is checked for the following:

e. SOAHSCH – High School Graduation Year and Final GPA

f. SGASTDN – CCTC Official Program of Study and date of initial enrollment

g. SHATERM/SOAPCOL – Any college transfer credits, and previous dates of enrollment.

1) If the college transcripts are on file, an official LIFE GPA must be calculated, as stipulated by the scholarship regulations. The regulations are made public through the SCCHE website at:

http://www.che.sc.gov/CHE_Docs/StudentServices/Regulations/ApprovedRegulation_LIFEScholarshipan dScholarshipEnhancement.pdf. The LIFE GPA must include all grades and credit hours earned at any eligible institution (in-state and out-of-state), including courses that do not transfer based on the institution's policy and college courses taken while in high school. The LIFE GPA must not include continuing education courses, non-degree credit courses for an associate's degree or higher and remedial/developmental courses.

2) If the college transcripts are not on file, a request is sent to the student, via CCTC email, informing the student that LIFE Scholarship eligibility cannot be determined until all transcripts have been received and evaluated by the Registrar.

h. ROAENRL – Student's enrollment in the term for which LIFE is requested, also noted is number of DVS classes, as this may affect eligibility.

8. 1) If a transfer student has a 3.0 or higher LIFE GPA, and meets all other eligibility requirements, the student is awarded a LIFE Scholarship in the full award amount (currently \$2500 per semester.) Awarding procedures are followed as noted in the above section "Awarding LIFE Scholarship."

2) If a transfer student does not meet the requirements for awarding LIFE Scholarship, an email is sent via CCTC email with notification.

9. After the drop / add period, the director will review the enrollment (ROAENRL) for all students awarded LIFE funds to ensure compliance.

10. Students who do not meet the requirement are contacted and asked if they plan to add hours during the second mini-mester. If not, then the LIFE Scholarship is removed from the student's award package, and the student is notified via CCTC email.

To identify any potential LIFE recipients who may have been overlooked, run the ARGOS reports "FA Newly Admitted LIFE Eligible Students" and "Renewal LIFE Students with Cum GPA >= 3.0" at the end of Spring and Summer terms.

Continuing Students

Students currently receiving the LIFE Scholarship will be reviewed for continued eligibility at the end of the spring term, using the screens listed above, including ROAENRL for summer enrollment.
 a) Eligible students not enrolled for summer, will be awarded LIFE Scholarship for the next academic year, following procedures noted in the above section "Awarding LIFE Scholarship." On SOAGPAT, a third line will be added for the student's current LIFE GPA after the first complete academic year:

* APPLICANT GPA TYPES										
GPA Type *	GPA Description	GPA *	* +/- Used *		School Description					
INIT ···	Initial High School GPA	4.36000000		410200	Lugoff-Elgin High School					
LIFE	LIFE Scholarship GPA	4.36000000		003995	Central Carolina Technical Col					
LIFE	LIFE Scholarship GPA	3.73000000		003995	Central Carolina Technical Col					
1 of 1 ▶ 1 10 ∨ Per Page										

b) Ineligible students not enrolled for summer will be contacted via CCTC email and urged to attend summer term and regain eligibility. Students must be notified that they are not meeting renewal criteria by CCTC email.

c) All continuing LIFE Scholarship students enrolled in the summer term, will be reviewed at the end of the term and,

1) if eligible, awarded funds for the next academic year following procedures noted in "Awarding LIFE Scholarship." Student is notified of award via CCTC email and receives a copy of the signed affidavit stating eligibility requirements.

2) if ineligible, notified via CCTC email.

To identify any potentially eligible students who may have been overlooked or those whose GPA has dropped below a 3.0 after the summer term, run the ARGOS report "Renewal LIFE Students with Cum GPA >=3.0" at the end of Spring and Summer terms.

Year-Round Scholarships for LIFE Scholarship

FY 2014-15 Appropriations Act, Part 1B 3.5. LEA: FY 2014-15 Lottery Funding):... A student may receive a Palmetto Fellows of LIFE scholarship award during the summer, in addition to fall spring semesters of an academic year, provided continued eligibility requirements are met as of the end of the spring semester. Students must enroll full-time, which for purposes of the summer award will require enrollment in at least twelve hours over the course of the summer. The summer is defined as the period between the end of the spring term and prior to the opening of the fall term. The total summer award per student may not exceed half of the allowable academic year award up to the cost of attendance and must be reimbursed if less than twelve hours for academic credit are not completed by the student during summer sessions. If awarded in the summer, a student's total award during his or her enrollment may not exceed the amount that would otherwise be provided under current semester limits applied for the scholarship awards. The Commission on Higher Education may provide additional guidelines necessary to ensure uniform implementation. ..."

Purpose:

South Carolina's state-funded undergraduate scholarship programs recognize academically talented students who are enrolled at an eligible South Carolina institution. A summer semester scholarship disbursement yields a potential for those eligible students who demonstrate they are on an accelerated track to graduation to earn a degree at a faster pace on a traditional academic calendar. The availability of summer awards allows for a decreased time-to-degree alternative which in turn assists students in attaining educational goals at lower costs. The most current regulations pertaining to year-round LIFE Scholarships may be found at:

http://www.che.sc.gov/CHE_Docs/StudentServices/Regulations/ApprovedRegulation_LIFEScholarshipan dScholarshipEnhancement.pdf

I. General Requirements for Determination of LIFE Summer Award Eligibility

For participation in summer scholarship disbursement, at the end of the spring semester a LIFE Scholarship recipient must:

1. Earn a cumulative 3.0 LIFE GPA.

2. Earn an average of at least 30 non-remedial coursework during the fall and spring terms, including AP, IB, Dual Enrollment, CLEP or exempted credit hours.

3. A summer term cannot be scholarship recipient's first term of enrollment.

4. A student must demonstrate having attempted and/enrolled in a total of at least twelve credit hours over the course of the entire summer term to be awarded.

5. A student can only receive a summer scholarship disbursement at their home institution. The LIFE Scholarship recipient must be verified for enrollment at an eligible South Carolina Institution.

Last updated: November 2020

		NUMBER
TITLE	RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS FOR FEES AND TUITION	6.25
AUTHORITY	CENTRAL CAROLINA TECHNICAL COLLEGE	DATE
		7/21/2021
OFFICE OF		SIGNATURE
RESPONSIBILITY	VICE PRESIDENT FOR STUDENT AFFAIRS	

I. POLICY

It is the policy of Central Carolina Technical College to adhere to the Code of Laws of South Carolina, guidelines promulgated by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (CHE), and the Central Carolina Technical College Commission regarding residency determination for tuition and fee purposes.

II. **PROCEDURES**

A. The Director of Admissions is the designated residency official of the College and is responsible for all residency determinations. The Vice President for Student Affairs is the designated appellate authority.

B. The CHE Guidelines for Determination of Rates and Fees will serve as the primary reference for making residency decisions. Definitions, classifications criteria, rules, and exceptions in the document will be used to determine county, state, and international tuition categories.

C. Initial residency determinations will be based on information provided by the applicant on the Central Carolina Technical College admission application. If insufficient information is provided, the applicant will be classified as the data may indicate and will be processed accordingly.

D. Applicants who wish to challenge or change their residency status must submit a Petition for Change of Residency Form to the Director Admissions. The request should be accompanied by supporting documentation to include but not limited to South Carolina (SC) vehicle registration card, valid SC driver's license/permit/identification card, or property tax receipt. If approved, the new tuition rate will apply to current and future terms.

E. Final decisions on residency classification may be appealed to the Vice President for Student Affairs. Neither the Director of Admissions nor the Vice President for Student Affairs may waive provisions of the law.

TITLE	REFUNDS FOR CREDIT/NON-CREDIT COURSES	NUMBER
		2.07
AUTHORITY	CENTRAL CAROLINA TECHNICAL COLLEGE	DATE
		November 21, 2019
OFFICE OF RESPONSIBILITY	VICE PRESIDENT FOR BUSINESS AFFAIRS	SIGNATURE

I. POLICY

It is the policy of Central Carolina Technical College to make refunds of tuition and fees to students or appropriate sponsoring parties in a fair and equitable manner upon withdrawal or reduction of course load.

II. PROCEDURE

- A. Credit Courses
 - 1. The College's refund policies are available to the public on the College's website, in the published catalog and student handbook.

Tuition and fee charges will be refunded at the following rates:

REFUNDS: <u>WITHDRAWAL OR NET REDUCTION IN CREDIT</u> HOURS

<u>PERCENT</u> <u>TWELVE THROUGH SIXTEEN WEE</u>	EK TERMS
--	----------

Before the first date in term that classes are offered (start of term)
 100% 1st - 5th day of term

- 1° = 5° day of term 0% after 5^{th} day of term
 - alter 5⁻⁻⁻ day of term

PERCENT FIVE THROUGH ELEVEN WEEK TERMS

Before the first date in term that classes are offered (start of term)
 100% 1st - 3rd day of term

0% After 3rd day of term

- 2. A full refund will be issued for all classes cancelled by Central Carolina Technical College.
- 3. Students who never attend class will be considered to have constructively withdrawn before the start of the term.
- 4. A student's official withdrawal date will be based on the last date of attendance.
- 5. Late fees and late payment penalty fees will not be refunded.
- 6. Refunds to veterans in non-degree programs or military tuition assistance recipients will be returned in accordance with existing government regulations.
- 7. The Vice President for Business Affairs may approve refunds on an individual basis where personal emergency or extreme hardship is involved and documented.
- 8. No refunds will be made if not applied for within 90 days of the last day of attendance.
- B. Non-credit courses, seminars, and workshops
 - 1. Full Refund

A full refund will be issued for all courses cancelled by Central Carolina Technical College.

2. Partial Refund

Registrations cancelled before the cutoff date, ten (10) working days before the start date of the course, will be assessed a 20% administrative fee.

3. No Refund

There will be no refunds for cancellations less than ten (10) working days prior to the start date of the course.

4. Refunds may be requested by mail, email, in person, or by telephone. These requests are the responsibility of the registrant.

For further information, please contact the Workforce Development Division.

5. Refunds to veterans in non-credit programs or military tuition assistance recipients will be returned in accordance with existing government regulations.

- 6. The Dean of Workforce Development may approve refunds on an individual basis where personal emergency or extreme hardship is involved and documented.
- 7. No refunds will be made if not applied for within 90 days of the last day of attendance.
- C. Unclaimed Refunds

The South Carolina Uniform Unclaimed Property Act requires that the College review its records each year to determine whether it is in possession of any unclaimed property, to file an annual report, and to remit unclaimed property to the State Treasurer's Office Unclaimed Property Program. Unclaimed property includes refund checks, deposits, and credit balances which have remained unclaimed by the rightful owner for a dormancy period. The dormancy period is five years for all of the above. The State requires an annual filing before November 1 of each year as of the preceding June 30. The Director of Accounting is responsible for ensuring these requirements are met.

The College is prohibited from submitting refunds from Federal Title IV funds to the State. The College will not submit these funds to the South Carolina Treasurer's Office, but will reimburse these funds (\$50 or greater) to the originating federal financial aid program.

D. Student Aid Refunds

After tuition, fees and books are deducted, the Accounting Department processes refunds to students whose account balance is paid through Direct Lending Loans, Federal or State grants, and/or scholarships in accordance with the applicable Federal and State regulations. The Accounting Department begins processing student aid refund checks after the Financial Aid office posts the award to student accounts. Refunds are processed and sent electronically to a third party provider.

Students must meet all of the following conditions to receive financial aid refunds:

- 1. Students must attend classes for which they register. Any classes not attended will be removed from student's schedule and financial aid reduced accordingly.
- 2. Financial aid awards will be prorated depending on the number of hours enrolled during the current term.
- 3. Students may not have withdrawn from the college for the current term.
- 4. Students must have no outstanding debt owed to the College.

If a refund check is not cashed or presented for payment during the award year, the Financial Aid office may subsequently adjust the student's award. The College may be required to return the credit balance to the applicable student aid program once the award period has ended.

SUPERSEDES DIRECTIVE 2.07 DATED 1/25/17