Bob Jones University

3.1 State Aid Programs in which Bob Jones University Participates with SC Commission on Higher Education (CHE)

3.4.1 South Carolina LIFE Scholarship

The Legislative Incentive for Future Excellence (LIFE) Scholarship is a merit-based scholarship. The LIFE scholarship recipient will receive a scholarship in the amount of \$5,000 if eligible.

Eligibility:

To qualify for consideration for a SC LIFE Scholarship, a student must meet two of the following three requirements. Eligibility is based on final high school transcript.

- 3.0 GPA under the State UGS
- 1100 SAT or 24 ACT
- Top 30% of graduating class

A student must also:

- Attend an eligible South Carolina private or public college or university
- Be a South Carolina resident at the time of high school graduation and at the time of college enrollment
- Be a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident
- Certify that he or she has not been convicted of any felonies and has not been convicted of any alcohol or other drug-related misdemeanor convictions within the past academic year
- Verify that he or she does not owe a refund or repayment on any federal or state financial aid
- Must not be eligible for or be a SC HOPE scholarship or Palmetto Fellows Scholarship recipient.

Policies and Procedures

The SC CHE expects the FAO of the individual institutions to determine student eligibility for South Carolina LIFE/HOPE/ and Palmetto Fellows scholarships.

Policy

Bob Jones University awards SC scholarship and grants to students who meet all stated eligibility requirements as listed throughout and whose parents verify that they were SC residents at the time of the student's high school graduation and a minimum of 12 months prior to the start of the student's freshman year. BJU evaluates and approves parent residency based on state regulatory guidelines regarding eligibility for in-state tuition.

Documentation accepted to verify proof of residency for all scholarships:

Two from the following list. (The documentation must prove residency for 12 months prior to beginning college.)

- Copy of the previous year's South Carolina state tax return
- Copy of South Carolina driver's license that is at least a year old

- Copy of vehicle registration or paid property tax bill
- Statement of full-time employment, giving dates of employment (not a pay stub)
- Military record designating South Carolina as the state of legal residence
- South Carolina identification card

Procedure

A certification form along with an affidavit of eligibility have been created and are posted under the university's financial aid section of its internet website (www.bju.edu). The certification form helps track a student's eligibility for LIFE and HOPE Scholarships while the affidavit confirms that the student has not been convicted of any felony, drug abuse or is in default on a federal student loan payment. Both forms are updated annually in March or early April for corrections for things such as dates or any other additions/deletions that need to be made due to changes in the legislation passed by the State legislature.

A hard copy file is then created for each eligible student. Files contain all documents for processing a student's eligibility for LIFE, HOPE, and Palmetto Fellows. Records are reviewed annually following the end of the academic year to check for scholarship eligibility for the upcoming academic year. Folders are noted annually in order to track a student's awards. Files for students who have reached their four years of enrollment are removed from the current files and moved to storage. Storage files are retained for 3 and are destroyed at the end of the third academic year.

High school transcripts are received several ways. For graduates of Bob Jones Academy (BJA) the University receives transcripts for the current year's graduating class, along with the class ranking report from BJA's high school office, so we can determine how many of those graduates who are planning to attend the University will qualify for one of the scholarships. Eligible students for LIFE or HOPE have their award packaged in our financial aid packaging software. The certification form and affidavit are required each year. Students are sent the required forms by email with instructions to complete and return them to the Financial Aid Office. Forms must be received before funds are disbursed.

For other new incoming freshmen, the Admission Office sends Financial Aid copies of final high school transcripts of other SC students as they are received. Eligibility for LIFE or HOPE Scholarship can usually be determined when these are received, as long as the student has ACT or SAT scores on file. Class rankings on public high school transcripts can be used as a determining factor for eligibility; however, for home-school and private schools, a class ranking report must be obtained in order to use ranking as one of the qualifiers. This can be requested by contacting the private school or home school association. Most of the time these students will qualify based on their ACT and GPA but there could be some who need the ranking in order to meet 2 of the 3 requirements for the LIFE Scholarship. Transcripts from private and home schools are checked for verbiage stating that the GPA is based on the SC UGS. The Admission Office also sends transcripts of any new incoming SC student who is then checked for previous enrollment at another school. Transfer work is checked to make sure qualification for awards are met.

Once certification forms and affidavits come into the office via the Student Services Hub Counter, email or mail, documents are checked for accuracy and proof of residency for first time participants.* First time home school graduate applicants must also include proof that their home school met the requirements as set forth in state law. Sometimes that proof is their high

school transcript if it was issued by the association. They can also provide a letter of membership from the home school association. A list of approved home-school associations can be found at http://ed.sc.gov/districts-schools/state-accountability/home-schooling/. If any of the required documentation is missing, awards remain pending in the packaging software program.

*Students who have not completed a FAFSA to prove their lawful presence in the state are required to submit a copy of their driver's license for this purpose.

Invoices for LIFE, HOPE, and Palmetto Fellows are sent to the Commission on Higher Education with the amount of money requested for each scholarship program after the Drop/Add period of the start of each semester. Along with this invoice, a print out from Student Central with Expected scholarship money that has been posted to students' accounts is sent to support the amount of money being requested. The CHE will contact us if there is a problem with the invoice(s). If there is no issue, they will process the invoice and send a request to the State Treasurer for funds to be sent to the school. This is an electronic funds transfer and money is sent to our state account at the bank. Start checking the State Treasure's website for the notification that funds are in process

(https://applications.sc.gov/STOVendorInquiry/Vendor/Search). In the EIN/SSN box, put 0095. In the Issued Amount box, enter the total of all three invoices with no symbols except the "." (i.e. 1189890.00)

After second semester classes start, an announcement is posted on the university intranet to students reminding them about the scholarship. Following Drop/Add period each semester checksheets are printed and placed into each student's file to verify he/she is enrolled in at least 12 credits of non-remedial courses and that their GPA meets the qualification. If a student's record confirms eligibility for LIFE or HOPE Scholarship, an official letter is sent through financial aid's packaging software.

An EXCEL disbursement file is also compiled and uploaded to the CHE website each semester. Submission deadlines are October 30th for the fall and March 31st for the spring.

Sometimes students who are initially approved for the HOPE Scholarship actually qualify for the LIFE Scholarship, but have not supplied us with a needed piece of information, or we have overlooked information that proves it. If the mistake was on our part, we will credit them the difference between the two scholarships as soon as the error is discovered. If the student is at fault, we will credit their account for the difference the next semester (or, in the case of second semester, when the reconciliation is done in June). The burden of proof is on the student. The most common problem is the class ranking has not been provided.

Scholarship eligibility is reviewed between semesters. When compiling the files for second semester, the first semester files are adjusted to add new recipients or delete students who no longer qualify for the scholarships (because they are not enrolled full-time or have run out of eligibility).

There will usually be students who do not get their paper work in by the deadline. For first semester students, they will have to wait until second semester to receive their funds.

For student withdrawals the Financial Services Office will tell us how much the student has been charged through the date of withdrawal (it is based on the percentage of the semester that the student was enrolled). That percentage of time the student is enrolled determines how much of

the scholarship can be retained on the account. We take the percentage of the semester's COA and subtract same percentage of the semester's financial aid. If there is still an amount left in the COA, the scholarship can be retained to cover it. If there is an overage on the COA, money will need to be returned to the CHE.

Last updated: 9.15.20

Life Scholarship Enhancement Eligibility

Recipients with over 30 hours, and who, as a freshman, earned 14 hours worth of math and/or science, and who are in a qualifying math or science major will receive an additional amount of up to \$2,500 per year for a maximum of \$7,500.

In addition to defining eligible majors, individual courses must be identified that meet the 14 hours of math and science during the freshman year requirement. Students are eligible for the enhancements if the 14-hour requirement is met by the end of the freshman year. AP credits and dual enrollment courses (college credit courses taken while still in high school) can satisfy the 14-hour rule.

3.4.2 SC Hope Scholarship – Eligibility

The South Carolina HOPE Scholarship Program is a merit-based scholarship created for eligible students attending a four-year institution who do not qualify for the LIFE or Palmetto Fellows Scholarship. Eligible students attending a four-year SC private or public college or university will receive up to \$2,800 during the first two semesters of attendance only. To qualify for consideration for a SC HOPE Scholarship, a student must meet the following requirements:

- 3.0 cumulative high school GPA according to state UGS on final High school transcript
- Attend an eligible South Carolina private or public college/university
- Be a South Carolina resident at the time of high school graduation and at the time of enrollment
- Be enrolled as a full-time degree seeking student
- Must not be eligible for or be a recipient of a LIFE or Palmetto Fellows Scholarship.

Last updated 9.15.20

3.4.3 South Carolina Palmetto Fellows Scholarship Procedure

Eligibility for the Palmetto Fellows Scholarship for freshmen students is determined by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education. The Commission works with the high schools and homeschool associations to determine the students that qualify. The Commission notifies the Financial Aid Office of those students that meet the academic requirements. The award is added to the student's Award screen in our financial aid software.* The Financial Aid Office

then contacts the students to request documentation to prove that the student meets the residency requirements and makes sure they have signed an Affidavit of Eligibility. When the funds are received from the Commission they are placed on the students' accounts. Before the next academic year begins, the Financial Aid Office notifies the Commission of those students who have met the continuing eligibility requirements for the next school year via a file that the CHE sends to us, usually in August. Recipients and the amount of their awards are reported each semester to the Commission on the Disbursement file as referenced in the LIFE Scholarship section.

First year students are eligible for up to \$6700. Upon completion of the required 30 credits and having a 3.0 cumulative GPA, students are eligible for up to \$7500 for their second, third, and fourth years, as long as they continue to earn a minimum of 30 credits each year, and maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA.

Recipients who are math and science majors and have completed 30 hours, and who, as a freshman, earned 14 hours of math and/or science credit, will receive an additional amount of up to \$3300 for a maximum award of \$10,000 per year, providing the student meets the continuing eligibility requirements (earning 30 credits and maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.0).

In addition to defining eligible majors, individual courses must be identified that meet the 14 hour requirement during the freshman year. In order to qualify for the Enhancement of \$3300, these 14 hours MUST be earned during the freshman year. AP credits and dual enrollment courses (college credit courses taken while still in high school) can satisfy the 14-hour rule. However, AP credits and dual enrollment courses MAY NOT be used to meet the yearly 30 credit hour requirement.

Near the end of each spring semester, Palmetto Fellows recipients are checked to make sure they will have earned the required 30 credits for the current academic year. If a student will not meet that requirement, the Financial Aid Office notifies the student of the deficiency and informs them that they would need to take additional credits during the summer. Summer classes must be completed and grades posted to the student's record before the first day of classes in the succeeding fall semester.

*By law, Palmetto Fellows funds are the last financial aid to be awarded to a student. Some students may not be eligible for the full amount of their scholarship if it would put them over their cost of attendance. In this case, the student would receive the amount that would bring them up to that cost.

Charges for room and board are to be limited as follows:

- 1. Room charges shall not exceed the average cost of on-campus residential housing;
- 2. Board charges shall not exceed the cost of the least expensive campus meal plan that includes 21 meals per week.

Refunds

If a student withdraws, the Financial Services Office will inform the FAO of how much the student has been charged through the date of withdrawal (it is based on the percentage of the semester that the student was enrolled). That percentage of time the student is enrolled determines how much of the scholarship can be retained on the account. Take that percentage of the semester's COA and subtract the same percentage of the semester's financial aid. If

there is still an amount left in the COA, the scholarship can be retained to cover it. If there is an overage on the COA, money will need to be returned to the CHE.

If a student drops below full-time after 5 weeks no adjustment is made to the student's account and the full scholarship may be kept. The Registrar's Office notifies the Financial Aid Office if a student withdraws from classes. If the student's account is adjusted then the scholarship is returned to the CHE.

OVER AWARDS

The data specialist in the Financial Aid Department runs a daily report to check for students whose financial aid is over their cost of attendance. Any student who shows up on the report is checked in our financial aid software and has awards adjusted as needed.

Last updated 9.15.20